Skip to content Skip to footer

Guardian of Future Generations

Article 8 of the Sustainable Development Act, Cap. 521 establishes the Guardian of Future Generations with the aim to safeguard intergenerational and intragenerational sustainable development in Malta.

Following the amendment by virtue of Act No. I of 2019, the composition of the Commission has been amended to recognise all voluntary organisations as contributing towards the sustainable development agenda whilst also ensuring that the environmental dimension, being the third pillar of sustainable development, is duly recognised.


As an interdisciplinary group of professionals, we seek to promote, support and incentivise policies and ideas which enable all citizens of Malta and Gozo, including those of future generations, irrespective of race, gender and social backgrounds to have the right to live in a country which provides them the best outcomes for their well-being, and a healthy environment which enables them to thrive and prosper.


The Guardian of Future Generations, as established by Article 8 of the Sustainable Development Act, Chapter 521 of the Laws of Malta, seeks to ensure healthy outcomes for all citizens in Malta and Gozo by advancing and implementing effective policies, stronger systems, and innovative practices that result in equitable and optimal health, prosperity and well-being for all, including community building and a resilient society.

The Guardian’s mission shall, thereby, be that of fulfilling its role as defined through legislation and the below core values on which its strategic process is based in order to enhance sustainable development through collaborations, research-based recommendations and rights.


Identify, demonstrate, support and promote rights and well-being innovations that will result in sustainable change, working in partnership with providers, policymakers, academic institutions, community-led groups, and state agencies.

Strategic Process (2023 - 2026)

1.  Rights-based value system inspired by SDGs.

2. Research-based approach to recommendations.

3. Participatory approach to community activities.

Priority Areas Embedded in the Strategic Vision

The Guardian of Future Generations’ strategic process is mainly influenced, and based on SDG 11, Sustainable Cities and Communities which ensures that cities and human settlements are inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable. The priority areas include:

1. The re-use of existing buildings and sites in a sustainable way.

2. The development of socially-aware designs of public places, such as pedestrian pathways and roads through the use of participatory methodologies with minorities and relevant stakeholders.

3. Community-building through projects that puts the person, their health and well-being at the centre.

4. The promotion of safety and security in the urban environment for all.

Shared Values and the Ethical System

The Guardian of Future Generations’ core values of justice, respect, accountability, collaboration, and equitable action have been intentionally and collaboratively designed to reflect the culture we strive to embody and the ways that we approach our work. We aspire to uphold these values in order to positively impact our society as well as the systems, practices, and policies that promote the rights and well-being of children, older adults, women, LGBTIQ individuals, migrants, people of colour, black minorities and people with disabilities.

Core Values

Justice as a Core Value

The Guardian of Future Generations aspires to apply a rights-based approach to all that we do so that one day our society can live in a more just and harmonious way where everyone’s well-being will always be safeguarded. The Guardian acknowledges that injustice is in itself a type of trauma.

Social Cohesion as a Core Value

The Guardian of Future Generations demonstrates respect for ourselves and each other within MFWS and those we work with externally including organisations, communities, children and families. The Guardian’s bottom-up approach to fostering social cohesion within our diverse communities aims to build and support a flourishing environment.

Accountability as a Core Value

In its projects, the Guardian of Future Generations aims to safeguard existing social ties and relationships by providing tools and skills to our diverse communities. By taking both a person-centred and preventative approach, the Guardian aims to co-develop resilient communities. The roles of accountability and prevention are key, while they complement SDG 11, which aims to foster transparent decision-making processes, inclusivity and resilience.

Collaboration as a Core Value

The Guardian of Future Generations values collaboration and alliances to achieve a sense of social glue within our diverse communities. As a team, the Guardian believes in collaborations and seeks to engage with public agencies, policymakers, researchers, providers, community-based organisations, and families who are directly impacted in order to make evidence- and community-based decisions to improve well-being.

Equitable Action as a Core Value

The Guardian of Future Generations strives to take action that seek to make equitable improvements within our national systems and policies that impact us now and in the future. The Guardian believes that such action can only enhance the larger social-serving system so that inequity and injustice no longer impede the opportunities afforded to children and their families, older adults, women, LGBTIQ individuals, migrants, people of colour, black minorities and people with disabilities.

Board Members


Dr Rachael Marie Scicluna


Ms Kirsten Cutajar Miller
Dr Ian Ellul
Ms Oriana Farrugia
Ms Mariella Schembri


Dr Tiffany Ann Attard